Clinical Service

Clinical Psychiatric services exist throughout the Province of KwaZulu-Natal. They include dedicated psychiatric beds in psychiatric hospitals and regional hospitals as well as provision for brief admission, assessment and treatment (up to 72hrs) in district level hospitals. In terms of the Mental Health Care Act (2002), individuals requiring psychiatric inpatient treatment are required to be admitted first to District and Regional level psychiatric facilities for a period of assessment and observation for up to 72hrs.

Psychiatric Hospitals

King George V Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

Town Hill Hospital – in uMgungundlovu District (PMB)

Fort Napier Hospital – in uMgungundlovu District (PMB)

uMzimkulu Hospital – in Sisonke District (uMzimkulu)

Madadeni Hospital – in Amajuba District (Newcastle)

Specialised Hospitals for Chronic Care

eKhuhlengeni Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

Umgeni Hospital – in uMgungundlovu District (Howick)

St Francis Hospital – in Zululand District (Mahlabatini)

Forensic Psychiatry

Fort Napier Hospital – in uMgungundlovu District (PMB)

Regional Hospital Units

King Edward VIII Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

Addington Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

Prince Mshiyeni Memorial Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

RK Khan Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

Mahatma Ghandi Memorial Hospital – in eThekwini District (Durban)

Stanger Hospital – in iLembe District (Stanger)

GJ Crookes Hospital – in Ugu District (Scottburgh)

Port Shepstone Hospital – in Ugu District (Port Shepstone)

Edendale Hospital – in uMgungundlovu District (PMB)

Ladysmith Hospital – in uThukela District (Ladysmith)

Ngwelezane Hospital – in uThungulu District (Empangeni)

Share This Page