Discipline of Psychiatry


Academic Staff

 Head of Department – Prof Bonga Chiliza

King Edward Hospital

King Edward Hospital – Specialist and lecture at UKZN Dr A Sukool

King Dinuzulu-Specialist Psychiatrist and Honorary Lecturer at UKZN Dr Yusuf Asmal

King DinuZulu Hospital

Psychiatry Head of Unit at King Dinizulu Hospital and Lecturer UKZN Prof Suvira Ramlall

King DiniZulu Hospital – Principal Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist and Lecturer Dr Enver Karim

King DiniZulu Memorial Hospital – Senior Specialist and Lecturer Dr Saeeda Paruk

Addington Hospital

Psychiatry Head of Unit at Addington Hospital and Lecturer at UKZN Dr Zeenat Kader

Addington Hospital-Specialist Psychiatrist and Honorary Lecturer at UKZN Dr Mahendra Ramdeyal

Addington Hospital – Specialist and Lecturer at UKZN Dr U Chhagan

Prince Mshiyeni Hospital

RK Khan Hospital

Ekuhlengeni Hospital

Townhill Hospital

Townhill Hospital – Principal Child & Adolescent  Psychiatrist and Lecturer Dr Kay Jhazbhay

Townhill Hospital – Senior Specialist and Honorary Lecturer Dr Jayshree Naidoo

Fort Napier Hospital

Fort Napier Hospital – Principal Forensic Psychiatrists and Honorary Lecturer Dr Neville Raymond

Ngwelezana Hospital

Ngwelezana Hospital – Principal Specialist/ Acting Head of Unit and Lecturer Dr Vusi Khanyile

Ngwelezana Hospital – Specialist and Lecturer Dr Thuthukile Nyandu

Ngwelezana Hospital – Senior Specialist Dr Steve Molefe

Ngwelezana Hospital – Specialist Dr Londeka Mnikathi

Professional Staff

Assistant Administrative Officer –Beena Heeraman